Future Flying Fourm 2021

10 November 07:00 – 13:00 (GMT)
11 November 13:00 – 19:00 (GMT)
Virtual Event

Speaker Profile

The Hon John Sharp AM

Deputy Chairman. Regional Express (Rex)

John has extensive experience in aviation, regional air services and was the former Federal Minister for Transport and Regional Development in the Federal Government. He is an aviator, having been a licensed pilot of both fixed-wing and rotary-wing aircraft.

He was a member of the House of Representatives of the Commonwealth Parliament for 14 years (1984 – 1998) and retired from the House of Representatives in 1998 to establish his own high-level aviation and transport consulting company. He was Honorary Federal Treasurer of the National Party of Australia from 1999 to 2017.

John is Chairman of Pel-Air Aviation Pty Ltd and serves as a director on the boards of Power and Data Corporation Pty Limited; Luerssen Australia; Australian Maritime Shipbuilding Export Group; the Tudor House Foundation, and the Foundation for Rural and Regional Renewal, as well as a Trustee and Board Member of John McKeown House.

John is a former Chairman of the Aviation Safety Foundation of Australia; Winifred West Schools Foundation, and the Parsons Brinkerhoff Advisory Board, an engineering and design company operating throughout Australia and the region. He has previously served as a director of Airbus Group, Australia Pacific and has been a member of the University of Wollongong Vice Chancellor’s Advisory Board. He has been a director of the French-Australian Chamber of Commerce and Industry, and Co-Chair of the Cancer Council of NSW Southern Highlands Branch. He recently retired as a member of the Climate Change Authority which he served on for six years.

John was also previously appointed a director of the Flight Safety Foundation following his receipt of the Foundation’s Presidential Citation for Aviation Safety - the first Australian to receive this award. He is involved in a number of voluntary and community organisations and named a Member of the Order of Australia for significant service to the people and Parliament of Australia, to the aviation industry, and the community.